Jean de Mazac

Cyrano de Bergerac

  Cyrano de Bergerac  

29.90 USD

3000.00 USD
Read license

PDF, 57.52 Mb (687 p.)


ComposerJean de Mazac
Lyricist Edmond Eugène Alexis Rostand
Genre Classical / Opera
Instrumentation Piano, Flute, Flute piccolo, Clarinet, Bassoon, Oboe, Horn, Trombone, Trumpet, Tuba, Violin, Viola, Cello, Double bass, Harp, Glockenspiel, Gong, Timpani, Cymbals, Soprano, Tenor, Baritone, Bass, Children’s voice, Voice, Contrabassoon, Bass Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
Scored forSymphonic orchestra
Type of scoreFull score
Duration 150'0"
Year of composition 2009
Description Cyrano de Bergerac is 'drama with music' (drame avec musique) in 5 acts by the heroic comedy of Edmond Rostand. Drama with music is new music-dramatic form based on French opéra comique, grand opéra, Italian verismo, German siengspiel, and, above all, following the dramatic reform of maestro Richard Wagner (including the leitmotifs).

Drama with music – Drame avec musique – is dramatic form combining the music with the word within the meaning of that the poem is the body and the music the soul of the drama, wherein the orchestra is describing and accentuating the dramatic and psychological movements.

Music of Cyrano is melodic, vivid, strictly following the dramatic actions, but absolutely not eccentric. Libretto is composed almost fully from Rostand's drama, simply because – as someone once had said – “Rostand's Cyrano is like an opera without music”.

This drama with music – Cyrano de Bergerac – is the greatest dramatic work of Jean de Mazac.
Upload date 30 May 2019


Log in to post a comment